“Four Valuable Farms” by Robert M Browell

This book was written in 1995 to commemorate the centenary of the Painshawfield Estate.

The book describes the development of the Estate from its purchase in May 1895 by the Allotments Society to 1988 when there was an unsuccessful application to change the Deed of Mutual Covenants. The chapters of the book detail the many changes that have taken place over the years on the Estate and the challenges the Deed has withstood making it stronger than when it was conceived.

The book is available to purchase at a cost of £10 with no charge for local delivery and if postal delivery is necessary an additional charge of £2 to cover postage and packing will be incurred. It is also available to purchase from the newsagent’s shop at Branch End.

To order a book please complete the form below and send with a cheque (Painshawfield Estate) to

Mr Ian Brown
Well Close
4 Well Road
NE43 7QW

Four Valuable Farms Order Form
Click to view PDF

Alternatively, you can e-mail your request to the secretary by clicking here and payment may be made on delivery of the book.